Book Reviews · Fiction · Mystery Books · Thriller Books

What You Never Knew | Jessica Hamilton | Book Review

“What You Never Knew” is a haunted story narrated by two loving sisters: one of them is dead, the other is not ready to face the shocking realities of her distorted past.

About The Book:

Author: Jessica Hamilton
Pages: 304.
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books (April 13th, 2021).
Genre: Mystery & Thrillers.

Blurb:

Told in alternating points of view between the living and the dead, Jessica Hamilton’s debut novel will be perfect for fans of THE LOVELY BONES.

Idyllic Avril lsland, owned by the Bennett family, where their hundred-year-old cottage sat nestled in acres of forest. Forty-year-old June Bennett believed that the island had been sold after the summer of her father’s disappearance when she was only twelve years old. It’s months after the shocking death of her older sister May in a fatal car accident, that June finds out that the cottage was never sold. Avril Island is still owned by the Bennett family, and now it’s hers.

Still reeling from the grief of losing her sister, June travels back to Avril lsland in search of answers. As she digs, she learns that the townspeople believe her father may have, in fact, been murdered rather than abandoning his family in the dead of night, as she was led to believe by her mother. And that’s when she begins to notice strange things happening on the island—missing family possessions showing up on her bed, doors open when she had locked them closed. It takes June no time at all to realize that her childhood summers at Avril Island were not at all what they had seemed to be

Review:

After losing her sister May, June realizes the summer cottage at Avril Island she’d spent her childhood hasn’t been sold as their mother told her after their father’s sudden disappearance. June was only 12 when they left the place. She questioned nothing about the past, deciding to move on her life with her children, adjusting the ending of her dysfunctional marriage.

But now she’s all alone, her best sister is dead, and she just inherited the nearly 100 years old cottage, i.e., their summer house that she’d thought was already gone decades ago. Entire island was the gift to her mother from French grandparents. And now she is the owner of the island .

She digs around and this investigation also bringing out more childhood memories! She sees things from different angle and she has hard time to digest the things she finds out!

I loved both sisters’ emotional bonding more than the mystery part of the book. June is the last one left behind of the family as May already left the world, but via her ghostly narration we learn more about their family dynamics and we get more reliable look at their lives.

The negative aspect is that we know nothing about the sisters apart from what is told. May is a famous photographer and June is a famous author, yet the author hasn’t explored that aspect of the characters.

Things were predictable and we all know that a predictable mystery-thriller is not a good one.

5 thoughts on “What You Never Knew | Jessica Hamilton | Book Review

  1. Oh Gosh…any book being narrated from point of view of a dead person sounds interesting as well as intimidating at the same time. Will give it a read

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thriller and mystery with a 3 stars. Seems like I will skip it. Looks like the character development is not up to the mark and the reader won’t enjoy reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s