Book Reviews · Fiction · LGBTQIA Books · Romance Books

Out of Character | Annabeth Albert | Book Review

About The Book:

Author: Annabeth Albert.
Pages: 400.
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca.
Publication Date: July 6th 2021.
Genre: YA, LGBTQIA.
Series: True Colors #2

Blurb:

It’s friends-to-enemies-to-friends-to-lovers in this LGBTQIA+ Romance for fans of Red, White & Royal Blue and The Pros of Cons who enjoy:

• Ex-best-friends falling in love
• Gaming, conventions, fandom & cosplay
• Nerd culture at its finest
• Learning how to be true to yourself

Jasper Quigley is tired of being everyone’s favorite sidekick. He wants to become the hero of his own life, but that’s not going to happen if he agrees to help out his former best friend turned king of the jocks, Milo Lionetti. High school was miserable enough, thanks, and Jasper has no interest in dredging up painful memories of his old secret crush.

But Milo’s got nowhere else to go. His life is spiraling out of control and he’s looking to turn things back around. Step one? Replace the rare Odyssey cards he lost in an idiotic bet. Step two? Tell his ex-best-friend exactly how he feels—how he’s always felt.

Jasper may be reluctant to reopen old wounds, but he never could resist Milo. There’s a catch, though: if Milo wants his help, he’s going to have to pitch in to make the upcoming children’s hospital charity ball the best ever. But as the two don cosplay for the kids and hunt for rare cards, nostalgia for their lost friendship may turn into something even more lasting…

My Thoughts:

Out of Character is Annabeth Albert‘s gamer book, and it is fun, nerdy, and unexpectedly hot. It is the second installment in the True Colors series.

Milo and Jasper used to be best friends, but their bond ended when Milo joined the jocks in high school for soccer and fame. A quest to acquire some exceptionally rare Odyssey cards has now brought the two together.

The book has a trope like bffs-to-enemies-to-friends-to lovers.

Milo is intent on making amends for severing their childhood friendship and become a better person; Jasper is determined not to be smitten by Milo and not to have his crush rekindled. As the two reconnect, the chemistry is there to form something more-than-friendship.

Milo’s character development is something I really liked. It was not something easy for him to come from the closet, but his progress in the entire novel, ranging from a self-deprecating guy to a more confident guy was stupendous.

The hospital visits were well-incorporated, which I really liked. I hope it had gotten more page time because it was a very heartwarming feature that revealed a lot about Jasper as a person. It was, without a doubt, my favourite section of the book. Jasper’s personality shined through in his interactions with his fellow gamers, and the cosplay/gamer component of this novel was a highlight for me.

Jasper helps Milo move through the new nature of a relationship and there is a real sense of give and take as they talk, listening and working together through their problems. I loved the subtle emphasis on consent in their relationship and the respect the partners show towards each other.

I really liked narration. The chapters move easily from the start to end, and there is no abruptness when you switch to next chapter.

About gaming: I have no knowledge of this gaming culture, but that did not cause any hindrance in my reading. I loved those elements actually.

Aaaand one big thing: This book is one of the 🏳️‍🌈best gay romances🏳️‍🌈, I’ve ever read!!!

13 thoughts on “Out of Character | Annabeth Albert | Book Review

  1. Being in love or to romance with another person is everyone’s personal choice. Just the way I respect a man woman romance, in the same way I respect gay romance too. Falling in love is one’s choice. You review is perfect enough to increase my interest towards the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looks like you really enjoyed the book. Yes, there are mamy books on gaming culture but your statement about this being simple to understand really attracted me. I would definitely give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I always love reading LGBT books and this one seems like a fun read. It checks out all the points that I look for in a book and I’d love to pick it up sometime, after reading the first book ofcourse. 🤭

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Don’t you think this type of book is very much rare. Yes I feel this many a times and why not as this is going to be the first book of such concept in my tbr list. Your four stars writing now making me feel greedy for this book.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is not something I would normally read but the plot sounds interesting and involves a lot of different cultures and unique characters. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lgbtq genre is something that I still haven’t read. Also I wanted to know more about gaming culture. A 4 star rating says you enjoyed reading this book. So i will add it to my tbr.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wait till you read Red, White & Royal Blue! That might just overtake this! But, nevertheless, this was still so much fun! Absolutely loved Milo and Jesper!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s