Book Reviews · Fiction · Literary Fiction

She Has My Child | Emma Robinson | Book Review

About The Book:

Author: Emma Robinson
Pages: 355
Genre: Women’s Fiction

The first time I hear the miraculous thud of my baby’s heartbeat, I’m clutching my sister’s hand. I was so happy when she offered to be our surrogate. But then I see the look on her face and I’m flooded with fear. This precious baby girl might be my child, but my sister is carrying her. Will she really be able to give her up?

All I’ve ever wanted is to be a mother. To have a child to take care of, to complete the family Mark and I are so desperate for. But after years of trying, my grandmother’s lovingly restored crib still lies empty. My dream is out of reach and Mark is more distant than ever. Until my impulsive sister Sophia suddenly offers me the greatest gift of all…

Her surrogacy will give me the baby I’ve prayed for. And there are so many painful memories from our broken childhood: could it even bring us closer as sisters? But as Sophia blooms with our miracle baby, Mark’s secretive behaviour has me questioning our marriage. And as I watch my sister’s face when the baby kicks, I wonder… why did she really offer to carry my child?

As Sophia gets closer to the birth, the hurtful secrets that forced us apart all those years ago come to light. And it’s terrifyingly clear that history is going to repeat itself, my innocent baby stuck in the middle. Because despite everything I thought I knew, how far can I really trust my sister with my baby…?

I got this review Copy from Netgalley. My review is my honest opinion.

Twenty years ago, Sophia left home and didn’t come back. Last year, her sister Megan reached out, and Sophia returned for the first time. Megan, struggling to have a baby, is surprised when Sophia offers to carry her baby as a surrogate. But things get scary and Megan wonders if trusting her sister was a mistake.

In ‘She Has My Child’ by Emma Robinson, we hear from both Megan and Sophia as the pregnancy goes on. Get ready for a roller coaster of emotions – from happy to sad and back again. Keep those tissues close!

The story deals with family and sisterhood, even though it’s not the thriller I expected. Still, I really liked it.

I’m definitely going to read more books by Emma Robinson!

Leave a comment