Book Reviews · Fiction · Mystery Books · Psychological thriller · Thriller Books

The Housewife’s Secret | Anna Lou Weatherley | Book Review

About The Book:

Author: Anna Lou Weatherley
Series: Detective Dan Riley Book 7
Pages: 331
Genre: Mystery Thriller

I cast my eyes over the impressive meal I’ve cooked and the half-empty crystal wine glasses. As our guests smile graciously, I squeeze my husband’s shoulder. It’s vital I get his friends to like me. To believe this version of me. Because I’ll do anything to stop them learning the truth…

Ever since I met my handsome husband Dr Gabe Bonneville, I started playing the role of the perfect housewife. He works hard as a surgeon, so I look after our home, and throw elaborate dinner parties with champagne cocktails for his best friends Hugh and Anita. He’s my safe place and my chance to have the family I’ve always wanted.

I’ve managed to hide the mornings when I wake up and see a face in the shadows. I haven’t told Gabe the truth about the woman who raised me, or told him about the therapy I’ve been getting so my secrets stay hidden in the dark. I haven’t questioned his past so he doesn’t ask about mine. I see the way Anita looks at him sometimes, but I’ll never say a word.

Until the letter arrives at the front door. The beautiful, expensive card shakes in my hand as I read the neat black handwriting.

Someone knows I’m not just a housewife. And the lies I’ve told will be all that’s left when I disappear…

I got this review Copy from Netgalley. My review is my honest opinion.

Successful first all nighter of the year.
I got back to reading another Anna Lou book, that too one with Detection Dan Riley, and to say the least, I am happy having read it.
Was this book un-put-down-able? Yes
Was this book predictable? No
Was the climax surprising? Definitely yes.
Do I recommend it? Hell yeah!!!!!

This is a part of Dan Riley series but you can easily read it as a standalone. 

This is my third Anna Lou book. Anna Lou’s writing always manages to pull me in right from the very first chapter. Her writing is easy to get into and you will find yourself immersed with the first chapter itself.
I am happy to have read this and will continue with the Dan Riley series happily.

Leave a comment